Saturday, September 05, 2009

Return from Jamaica! New Metronomy, Buffetlibre, SMD, In Flagranti, Jahcoozi, M.I.A., Don Diablo, Joe & Will Ask, and Acid Kids!

I'm back from a PERFECT Honeymoon! Although it was a little over a year late it was just as amazing as if we had gone right after the wedding. Let me tell you, people always tell you Jamaica is really dangerous and that's a BUNCH of bullshit. I mean I suppose if you need to score crack at 3am in Kingston you might get robbed but otherwise it's a really a country full of really kind and caring people...

Anyway... I have SO much music in my inbox... I can't attempt to post them all and make any cohesive transition from the first one to the last one (not that I normally do)... soooooo, I guess just enjoy them all! I'm totally recharged from my trip so expect more posts. Not everything here is British but I wanted to give you guys a really big return post!

FIRST OFF... Metronomy have a new EP coming out from which we have the track of the same name! Metronomy have got their first London headline gig @ The Forum on the 18th September so make sure you march down there and check it out!

Metronomy- "Not Made For Love"

2nd off... here's a little reminder of last night's Fabric night with my favourites In Flagranti that I wanted to share... which I could have been there...

In Flagranti - Brash and Vulgar by fabric

3rd... I'm very excited to share that Buffetlibre have a bangin new mixtape for you (although you may already have it seeing as people download their mixes like crazy)... they never go wrong and I'm happy to consider them as good friends of the blog. I really like the story behind this new tape as well as the playlist...

"On 25 July 2005 a bit of us had to be kept in our memories forever. The closing of Cibeles Theater carried the end of Mond Club and so, the end of the coolest nights in Barcelona. Despite the huge clubbing offer in the city, the synergy of the theater and the club marked a golden age that we still love to recall, with wistful smile and wet eyes, with whom shared those moments with us.

Almost ten years after its opening, Buffetlibre DJ's has joined Buenavista, resident of Mond Club and one of the best dj’s from Barcelona, to pay homage to some of the most memorable nights in our life."

Recorded by Buffetlibre Dj's
Tracklist selected by Buenavista & Buffetlibre Dj's


1. Sintonia Buffetlibre
2. Andreas Dorau - Girls In Love
3. Ladytron - Playgirl
4. Mirwais - Naive Song
5. Jay Jay Johanson - On The Radio
6. Ginger Ale - Happy House
7. Fangoria - Electricistas
8. Monosurroud - I Warmed You Baby
9. Phoenix - If I Ever Feel Better (Buffalo Bunch Remix)
10. Barcelona - Studio Hair Gel
11. Annie - The Greatest Hit (Röyksopp Remix)
12. Radio 4 - Dance To The Undergroud
13. The Rapture - House Of Jealous Lovers
14. Console - 14 Zero Zero
15. Chucho - Magic
16. La Casa Azul - Cerca De Shibuya
17. Urban Cookie Collective - Feels Like Heaven
18. The Juan Maclean - Give Me Every Little Thing (Cajmere Remix)
19. Whitey - Leave Them All Behind
20. Saint Etienne - Shower Scene
21. John Paul Young - Love Is In The Air (Extended Mix)
22. Cassius – Feelings for you (Les Rythmes Digitales Remix)
23. Basement Jaxx - Bingo Bango
24. Etienne De Crécy - Prix Choc
25. Zoot Woman - It's Automatic
26. Le Hammond Inferno - Move Your Mp3
27. Betty Boo - Doin' The Do
28. MacNamara - Mi Correo Electronico Oh!
29. Justice vs. Simian - We Are Your Friends
30. ABBA - S.O.S.


Robert from Jahcoozi has always hooked us up with the best prerelease tracks... so I'm proud post this "Namedropper" video, and point you in the direction of a wicked Hannah Holland remix... which are right here :)

And make sure you check this out!

In case you missed it The Very Best have done a wicked track with M.I.A... I wish I could have posted it RIGHT when it came out but c'est la vie!
The Very Best- "Rain Dance (feat M.I.A.)"

More free music comes from our buddy Don Diablo who may well be crowned "King Of The Blogosphere" this year due to his sheer output, and great working relationship with bloggers. I'm happy to present an extra track that didn't make his forthcoming debut album. He said "Some great songs just didn't fit with the rest of the sound, but that doesn't mean it has to end up in my private collection!" so he's giving this track to you instead of letting it disappear into the ether. These are the same cats he recorded his track "Blow" with...


Check out more on Myspace!

I've spent a lot of time listening to "Audacity Of Huge" this weekend so a Simian Mobile Disco remix is a welcome addition to my playlist! It's done by The Lowbrows who have also provided an original production. Their SMD remix is more of an old school Hacienda style dance track which is prefect for end of Summer parties... listen for yourself!

Simian Mobile Disco - "Synthesise (The Lowbrows Remix)"
Simian Mobile Disco - "Synthesise (The Lowbrows Remix)" YSI

Here's one of their originals:

The Lowbrows - "Midnight Pirates"

Here's some info about The Lowbrows...

THE LOWBROWS are a creative unit that was formed in 2005,
by CHAKI and EMI.
CHAKI masters a variety of instruments, including the guitar, wooden
bass and turntables. He has been performing as a DJ for many years as
well. EMI shows off her talent, with her trained classical music
background. Their edgy sound is always looking toward the future, and
gives you a sense of innovation with every listen! Being an
electro/dance duo "made in Tokyo", gives THE LOWBROWS a unique
presence in the world today.

THE LOWBROWS have been gaining worldwide acclaim with achievements
like: being interviewed by Dazed & Confused from the UK, being
featured on famous blogs, having their music showcased on playlists by
many DJs, and more! With an amazing reputation for their remix work,
they are receiving a rush of offers from both Japanese and
international artists. As a DJ, CHAKI has performed with Digitalism,
The Bang Gang Deejays, Hot Chip, Friendly Fires, N.A.S.A., Danger
Steve Aoki, and many more.

Their first EP "THE LOWBROWS EP", was released in March 2007 (and is
no longer available). In February 2008, an unreleased track "Melody
And Shudder" was remixed by DEXPISTOLS and included on their mix CD
"Lesson 4". THE LOWBROWS gained public attention as they were the only
Japanese artists featured on it. A limited release of the vinyl THE
LOWBROWS VS 80KIDZ" went on sale in August of 2008. They followed this
up with their long-awaited 1st album "For Whom The Bell Tolls" in
December 2008 which featured the hits "Linda Is Tonight" and "Stay
Faceless", as well as previously unreleased tracks and remixes.

They are currently hard at work on their highly anticipated 2nd EP,
"Danse Macabre" which is scheduled to release on October 7th, 2009.
"Danse Macabre" will be yet another album from THE LOWBROWS, which
will innovate and show everyone another glimpse at the future of
electronic music, no matter where it is coming from...

Check out more at their Myspace!

Finally, our friends Acidkids have got a new track out which you can check out in the video below and purchase, if you like, over at Beatport!

As an extra Always Fridays provided a mix from Joe & Will Ask:
Joe and Will Ask Mixtape by alwaysfridays
Check out the next Always Fridays on Fri 11th Sep with The Subs. Here's a little more info... "Not only that but appearances from Punks Jump Up and The Lovely Jonjo will be complimented by Lisbon Techno duo, Heartbreakerz on the terrace. Monthly resident Peter Pixzel also features alongside weekly residents Jacob Husley and John & On."

And one more extra little bonus... As Tall As Lions remixed by Diplo!
As Tall As Lions- "Circles (Diplo Remix)"

No comments: